Designated Standard Maintenance Organizations

The final HIPAA rule titled "Standards for Electronic Transactions," published in the Federal Register on August 17, 2000, establishes a new category of organization, the "Designated Standard Maintenance Organization (DSMO)." Section 162.910 of this final regulation provides that the Secretary may designate as DSMOs those organizations that agree to maintain the standards adopted by the Secretary. Section 162.910 also establishes criteria for the processes to be used in such maintenance. Several Data Content Committees (DCCs) and Standard Setting Organizations (SSOs) have agreed to maintain those standards designated as national standards in the final rule "Standards for Electronic Transactions" according to the criteria established by the Secretary.
Understanding the HIPAA Processes
The DSMO have created this presentation to provide information on the HIPAA transactions, code sets, and operating rules processes under HIPAA.
PDF of the Final MOU
establishing the Change Request process (
PDF of the Announcement
establishing the DSMO (
Provisions of the Notice
Pursuant to §162.910, the Secretary designates the following organizations as DSMOs:
  • Accredited Standards Committee X12.
  • Dental Content Committee of the American Dental Association.
  • Health Level Seven.
  • National Council for Prescription Drug Programs.
  • National Uniform Billing Committee.
  • National Uniform Claim Committee.

The Administrative Simplification provisions of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 are intended to reduce the costs and administrative burdens of health care by making possible the standardized, electronic transmission of many administrative and financial transactions that are currently carried out manually on paper. For additional information about HIPAA, consult the
US Department of Health and Human Services web site.